Posted by: Viviana M. Rueda Image | March 13, 2008

For All: Self-Protection

I recently had the opportunity to participate in a training program that re-affirmed my dedication to making a difference.  For most of you, hearing  me say “I want to make a difference in people’s lives” is standard operating procedure.  I.e. this is not an unusual thing for me to say.  It’s why I do what I do.  I know that my natural skill set of seeing the true essence of people, i.e., their “Personal Brand” will make a significant if not profound difference in their lives.  But for those who don’t know me, it’s a realization that gets people thinking.  What does “making a difference” really mean?  I believe that it’s about self-realization, self-empowerment and the ability to self-express.

This should set the context for this Blog.  A few weeks ago I participated in the Bukido Institute’s B.L.A.S.T.™ program.  B.L.A.S.T. is an acronym for Basic Ladies Assault Survival Training.  It is a scenario-based training program that connects you with the reality of being assaulted, which as most women know, is not that unusual.  I won’t go into scary statistics but it wouldn’t be unusual for most of the women in your lives to say that they, a. have been assaulted or b. have fended off an assault. 

Right now you are probably thinking “how is this different from martial arts training”.  Well, martial arts training takes years to perfect, is a dedicated practice that is not only physically demanding but also emotionally and spiritually demanding.   The skills that the B.L.A.S.T. training teaches women are instinctual, you can be any age to use (well almost any age, a 1 year-old might have some trouble with the drills, yes I’m being facetious), and you can be at various levels of fitness or lack thereof.  You don’t have to train for weeks, months or years.  And there is no spiritual practice associated with it, it is intended to be used for your protection and the protection of the people that you love and hold dear.

How does this all tie into self-empowerment, self-realization and self-expression?    Simply put, the skills that you learn in this seminar tie into these traits as naturally as breathing ties into oxygen.  As a woman, wife, mother, sister, aunt, or niece do you know that you matter to the world?  Enough to protect yourself?  Enough to keep fighting when an aggressive 200-pound man has a vice-grip on your throat and is telling you what he is planning on doing to you?  Will you shut down, or will you remember that you are worth fighting for and that there are so many things to live for in order to make it through this assault?  As a man reading this, this should resonate with you loud and clear.  Do the women in your lives, have enough self-empowerment, self-realization and self-expression to be able to use their voice and body to fend off an attacker?  If you aren’t sure, then I strongly encourage you to have the women in your lives explore this question.

I walked away from this seminar with a newfound respect for the power that my voice and intention carries.  I have to say that the B.L.A.S.T. is truly intense and challenging, which I personally enjoy being a person that likes to set a high standard of achievement, but beyond that, it reminded me that my ability to protect myself allows me to protect my family and what I stand for.  If I don’t put myself first then I can’t make a difference. 

I hope this stirs some curiosity in you.

Tip of the Week:

Naturally it is about the Bukido Institute.  Bukido, by the way, literally means “The Path of the Warrior Spirit”.  You can learn more about Bukido at their website where they’ve a good deal of information on their training system and their Training Opportunities.  The next B.L.A.S.T. training program is June 14th-June 15th.  I highly recommend and encourage every woman that I know to investigate this training opportunity.  For more information, you can talk to Christopher Hicks who runs the program (along with a dedicated, very-well trained and highly professional team) and he may be reached at christopher@bukido.com

Be Safe!
Viviana M. Rueda
Creative Founder
Vivendi Fashionista

Leave a Reply

Categories

