Posted by: Viviana M. Rueda Image | June 8, 2009

Comfortable Heels – Platform Heels. Really?

Okay.  I admit that I’m one of those fashion-obsessed women who just doesn’t mind wearing high heels.  Not only do I not mind, I revel in wearing heels and I strive to not show the occasional searing pain that they can cause.  Which is highly amusing to my fiancée who just shakes his head (while thanking God he doesn’t ‘t have to wear heels).

Along with handbags, I’m just in love with heels.  I mean what a great way to add zing to an outfit.  Sleek, sophisticated black suit and then WHAM add some hot shoes and you’ve taken your outfit from the office to out on the town!  Well, to my intense satisfaction the shoe that is surprisingly comfortable is back and it’s back in a good way not in a bad way.

Kelsi Dagger Joanna Platform

Kelsi Dagger Joanna Platform

It is my belief that the most comfortable heel is the platform heel.  Porque, you ask (high school Spanish coming back to you)?  Well, because you’ve a good 1/2 to 1 inch between the concrete and the oh-so-sensitive balls of your feet.  Call it impromptu shock absorbers, but they look good!  Oh, and for those of you petite chicas, it also adds a good amount of height.

So this last week, I had a crazy-long week of events where I had to gallivant in high heels from 9 a.m. until 10 p.m.  And I am so thanking my lucky stars that I found these awesome Kenneth Cole platforms (pictured below but mine are in a lovely sunflower yellow with caramel accents).  With the exception of one night where I had to slip on a slinky stiletto, my platforms kept me going all week with minimal pain.  And you know me…I go!  I mean I’m walking a few blocks in my heels, running up and down stairs, etc.  My current favorites include Kelsi Dagger, Kenneth Cole Reaction, Michael Kors and Aldo.

Kenneth Cole Reaction Chip Mall Platform

Kenneth Cole Reaction Chip Mall Platform

Mind you, platforms are not for every occasion, but with the current trends they do seem to work for most occasions.  So if you want to indulge in high heels, this personal stylist (aka me) recommends that you give platforms a shot.

Oh and another tip for wearing heels – Look for booties, mary jane styles or anything that straps around your ankle.  The less your foot has to work at keeping the shoe on, the more comfortable it will be.

Responses

  1. superb web site, users of the net really need good quality sites like this, keep up the good work and well done.

  2. Good website. I’ve been trying to study how to pop up the window like that. Anyways. Blogger is easier for me.

    Thanks and keep it up


Leave a Reply

Categories

