Posted by: Viviana M. Rueda Image | October 14, 2009

Fashion Inspiration One Pearl Strand At a Time

Gabrielle Bonheur "Coco" Chanel

Gabrielle Bonheur "Coco" Chanel

When did I fall in love with pearls and Coco Chanel fashion?  I know I was young and it was long before the current rage about Coco (now that the movie with Audrey Tautou is out). I adored Chanel’s penchant for layering jewelry, particularly long strands of pearls, long before Madonna decided to sport them a la Like-a-Virgin style.  To me that look signified rebellion – High-fashion rebellion since Coco broke just a few fashion rules here and there.  Plus in the 80’s, I was a rebel without a cause.  So I draped myself with pearls and followed her adage of “Before leaving the house, a lady should stop, look in the mirror, and remove one piece of jewelry.”   Plus, being a good South American girl, I owned more than my share of pearl strands for all occasions.   Which speaking of, if you don’t own at least one strand, you are missing one of the most basic jewelry staples known to the contemporary Fashionista.

So it’s no surprise that when I discovered May Yeung Jewelry it was love at first sight. Her designs and use of pearls exemplify chic, timeless and elegant style, while still being accessible.  It’s so easy to wear her creations that I can easily justify buying multiple pieces both for myself and for my personal styling clients.

Imagine my surprise and delight to find out that May Yeung has honored me with a collection in my name!  And good thing that her jewelry is so accessible because you know I will have to own EVERY single one of the Viviana Collection pieces!

May-Yeung-Jewelry-Viviana-Collection-Layered-Gold-Pearls

Layered Look from May Yeung Jewelry's Viviana Collection

When I asked May what inspired her to create the collection, I had to giggle because she and I are so on the same page about these designs!  Which brings me back to Coco Chanel – May is also an acolyte at the altar of Chanel’s style and influence.  And this collection pays homage to the beauty of mixing pearls, crystals, and black onyx to portray a classic style that flows easily from a day at the office, to going out for drinks and dinner.  Add to the fact that we’ve been anticipating the release of the new Coco Chanel film and Voila!  You have the inspiration for the creation of May Yeung Jewelry’s Viviana collection.

May Yeung Jewelry Viviana Collection Layered Look with Pearls

May Yeung Jewelry Viviana Collection Layered Look with Pearls

While I may have been an inspiration for May’s Viviana collection, I insist that May is an inspiration to me for her spot-on elegance, a stunning eye for detail, and a knack for making the most subtle style scream high fashion.  Truly, when I style myself and my clients alike in May Yeung Jewelry, the effect is always “Where did you get that?  I must have it.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

