Posted by: Viviana M. Rueda Image | December 18, 2009

2009 Holiday Season Fashion

I love the holidays.  With a career that dictates business holiday engagements and my social butterfly friends,  it all adds up to one very busy holiday season.   Needless to say, this requires a bit of planning on the fashion front.   And I’m always up for fashion planning – I know that comes as a surprise to those of you who know me…Me, planning and fashion.

Holiday fashion planning includes perusing my favorite stores and catalogs for my latest and greatest Holiday Season acquisition.  Because like no other time of year, the Holiday Season screams for the sumptuous, the statement-worthy, bling, velvet, lace and all of those fabulous outfits that most of us who don’t walk the red carpet on a regular basis seldom get to wear January through November.

Even if I’m not buying, I love to walk the stores during the holidays for inspiration.  The clothes…and the jewelry..and the shoes!  I better lock away my credit cards because I’m beginning to have shopping drool drip on my laptop-NO BUENO!

Well, I wanted to share some of my fashion obsessions for the 2009 Holiday Season to give you some inspiration:

Cocktail Rings: I love bling and I’m obsessed with Tony Duquette’s aquamarine and amethyst creations.  Bulgari as always has rings that I drool over and Chanel has bling to sing for.  Not your price point?  Hit up Swarovski for the priced-within-reach variety and those of you readers who are my clients, call me and I’ll help you find the most divine cocktail rings.

Liz Palacios at Nordstrom

Necklaces:  As you know, I’m obsessed with pearls.  My Achilles heel being May Yeung Jewelry and Claudia Endler Designs (don’t think that Claudia Endler Designs pearl necklace from earlier this month isn’t on my Christmas list).  Some of other favorites, Nordstrom’s has a Liz Palacios floral filigree statement necklace that’s to die for.  Worn with a cocktail ring and a black velvet shift you’ll channel so much Chanel that you may start speaking French.  And of course I’m drooling over Chopard’s 255-ruby and 57-carat diamond necklace.  Unless my husband and I become Bonnie and Clyde it’s so not going to take up residence in my jewelry wardrobe, but I can dream and I can be inspired to find something similar at Banana Republic – I am a woman on a mission!

Chopard Ruby & Diamond Necklace

Shoes: Loving the funky, sexy and over-the-top shoes these days.  Favorites include Guess by Marciano’s cage sandal, Stella McCartney’s disco-inspired gold sandals and Louis Vuitton’s Coquette and Cancan styles.

Louis Vuitton Coquette Pump

Cost-effective alternatives: Use high fashion designers for inspiration and hit up H&M, Forever 21, Banana Republic, Bebe, The Limited and Loehmann’s.  They may not have everything you want, but if you are willing to think outside of the box you’ll find interesting pieces to make your 2009 Holiday Season outfits truly festive.

Happy Holidays All!

Responses

  1. I love the pieces you’re showing! They’re perfect for getting into the holiday spirit. Plus, the tips are definitely helpful without giving up on style.


Leave a Reply

Categories

